Tor Bagging

I’ve been on holiday (again). Ian, Lynne, Menace and Alan all went to Dartmoor for four days to get away from the stresses and strains of running a small rural guesthouse!

Dartmoor is like the Quantocks but with more prisons and loads bigger. It was also, and I know that you are going to find this hard to believe, nice weather wot woz good as I’m not sure I would have enjoyed getting wet every day.

Me with tors behind waiting to be bagged

Me with tors behind waiting to be bagged

The holiday started well with me being taken to my favourite shop, Jollyes, to choose some treats for the break. I chose three packs of posh biscuits for dogs from the Pet Bakery. I also stole some biscuits from the buckets on the floor – well, wot a stupid place to put biscuits – I ask you!

Ian wanted to go to Dartmoor to go ‘tor bagging’ this is where you go into the middle of nowhere, and then look for the highest point, then walk up to a load of rocks. Then when you’ve done that you look around for another load of rocks and walk up to those as well. I thort this woz GREAT although I woz a bit knackered at the end of the day.

Nearly as good as tor bagging woz going to the pub at lunchtime and I cannot recommend the Plume of Feathers in Princetown highly enough – they had a MENU FOR DOGS! Can you believe it? Ian quite liked the Dartmoor beer (Ian likes any beer!) but I had the doggie sausages, sliced and diced – SMASHING.

Doggie Menu - FANTASTIC. Well done the Plume of Feathers

Doggie Menu – FANTASTIC. Well done the Plume of Feathers

Other good pubs were the Exeter Inn, Ashburton (good Legend ale), the Rugglestone (reely good Cornish (or perhaps Devon) pasty, Widecombe-in-the-Moor and the Old Inn, also Widecombe, where Ian saw this sign…

Oh er missus!

Oh er missus!

All in all, it woz a reely good holiday, but I don’t think you can beat the Quantock Hills and I woz glad to get home.

If you want to discuss tor bagging with me, then just get your owner to give Ian or Lynne a call on 01278 732228 or e-mail me at woofwoof@theoldciderhouse.co.uk and I’ll be happy to show you some rocks wot you can walk up on the Quantock Hills.

Until next time, Ozy

The Old Cider House, Dog Friendly Bed and Breakfast, Quantocks, Somerset

About Blog Administrator

We write a number of blogs for different reasons. For: Law - contact Ian Pearson 07531 852 229 Dog - contact Ozy The Old Cider House - contact Lynne 01278 732228
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Tor Bagging

  1. Flowerpot says:

    Iknow the Exeter in Ashburton very well! Glad you had a good holiday, Ozy x

  2. Hasenschneck says:

    A menu for dogs. How brilliant!

Tell me wot you think ...

